NTNU – Trondheim

NTNU (Main Partner)
Faculty of Humanities
Institute of Archaeology and Religious Studies
Department of Archaeology

Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)is Norway’s second largest university with above 20.000 students studying a range of disciplines at seven different faculties, 53 institutes are spread out over seven major campuses and graduate about 3,300 students every year, two-thirds of which are master’s or PhD candidates. The university has more than 100 laboratory facilities distributed among the different faculties and departments. These are central elements in NTNU’s education and research work.

NTNU offers more than 30 International Master’s programs taught in English and there are extensive programs for doctoral research in most disciplines at NTNU. The university has nearly 300 cooperative programs or exchange agreements with institutions in 58 countries.

As the name implies, natural sciences and technology are the main profile, but at the same time NTNU is a comprehensive university with a broad range of institutes, research and education within humanities and fine arts, social sciences, architecture and medicine.

Faculty of Humanities – As part of a university with technology and natural sciences as its main profile, the Faculty of Humanities aims to contribute with the humanistic perspectives necessary for the understanding of the role of technology in society and of technology as a product of culture.

Through the Humanities’ emphasis on reflection and critical thinking, the Faculty’s aim is to contribute to NTNU’s development of its role as an educational and research institution, in close dialogue with society, culture, industry and commerce.

The Faculty is responsible for teaching and research within a broad range of subjects of the Humanities: Archaeology, History, Culture, Religion, Language and Communication, Philosophy, Literature and Art. The faculty has been partner in a significant number of research project funded by the EU.

Institute of Archaeology and Religious Studies – The institute is one of nine institutes of the Faculty of Humanities at the NTNU and has two departments: Department of Archaeology and Department of Religious Studies. Department of Archaeology carries out research within various fields, as for example: Historical Archaeology, Conflict Archaeology, Archaeology of
Contemporary Past, Maritime Archaeology, Archaeology of Prehistoric Technologies, Rock Art, Museology and Management of Cultural Heritage, etc. The department offers academic courses on all levels (BA, MA, PhD and Post-doc).

Members of the staff have been leading and/or participating in a number of international research projects in Europe, North America, Latin America and in the Middle East. At present, members of the staff are involved as core partners in two EU funded research projects: within HERA and EU Culture Program.



Marek E. Jasinski