Birgitte M. Fjørtoft

My name is Birgitte M. Fjørtoft, and I am 24 years old. I’m from the small island Fjørtoft, located on the west coast of Norway, outside the city of Ålesund. I lived there until I was 16 years old before I moved off the island for study purposes. In 2007 I moved to Trondheim, where I live with my boyfriend Øivind, to study history at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU). I finished the one year history study before I started my bachelor in Archaeology. In 2010 I proceeded with master studies in Archaeology, and this summer (2012) I submitted my master thesis.

The thesis is a modern archaeological contribution to the interdisciplinary research project Painful Heritage, which focuses on increasing the awareness of the cultural landscape and material culture from the prisoners-of-war (POW) camps in Norway. This is something that has received little attention until today. The main focus of my thesis was to locate, evaluate and analyze the conservation status of some POW camps in Trondheim and Øysand, in the context of modern archaeology. The landscapes and material culture from the POW camps are an enormous source of knowledge that can increase the understanding and insight on how people in captivity were treated during the Second World War. It is therefore very important that such remnants are recognized as source material and not undermined.

Summer of 2011 and 2012 I have been working as a field- archaeologist at the Vestfoldbane project, where a new railroad is being built. Her we investigate Stone Age sites. Other of my personal interests and hobbies include training, skiing, fishing and traveling.